Day 2: What’s your name?

The Day 2 Zero to Hero assignment is to edit your title and tagline, and flesh them out more in a widget.

Technically, the widget part of the assignment was easy. one or two sentences describing “What’s this blog about?” was a lot more difficult, and I don’t think I’m there quite yet.

I’m happy with the ‘dilettante’ title and “The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.” tagline.

A long time a go I was called a dilettante. I didn’t know what it meant then, so I had to ask and I also looked it up later. I was called a dilettante, because they recognised that I was interested in absolutely everything, but once I figured it out, that is, the why and how, I moved my attention to the next curiosity. Fortunately or unfortunately, I also value finishing anything I have started, so any important projects are completed. I say unfortunately, because in hindsight, some projects I should have moved on from without completion.

The quote in the tagline was in someone’s email sig at the time, and I liked it. Doing some searching, it can either be attributed to Ellen Parr or Dorothy Parker.

Impatient maybe, but never bored, and insatiably curious.

Looking up ‘dilettante’ in the dictionary then (or Google now), I saw that it could be used derogatorily. But when I was called a dilettante I know that is was meant as a compliment as in the early use of the word, and that is the spirit in which I named this blog.

adj. n.

1. a person who takes up an art, activity, or subject merely for amusement, esp. in a desultory or superficial way; dabbler.

2. a lover of an art or science.

From Italian dilettante, prop. present participle of dilettare (“to delight”), from Latin dēlectāre (“to delight”).

So, my blog is about wherever my curiosity takes me.

Leave a Reply

