who I am and why I’m here

I have been here at WordPress.com since 2007, but have been mostly off-line for the last couple of years. My interest in blogging was renewed by reading about the Zero to Hero 30-Day Blog Challenge as I thought that it was just what I needed to begin the habit of writing consistently.

Rather than create a “who I am and why I’m here” post, I am re-interpreting this challenge to update my Who I Am page having seen that it was first published on 12 November 2005. Which seems a bit weird because my first post begin at the beginning was published on 9 February 2007. In addition, I thought I would respond to some of the questions posed in the challenge.

Why are you blogging, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I do keep a diary, but as it is personal, I don’t share this. Items that I want to share, I would like to take the time to reflect on and perhaps photograph. Because I’m aware that I’m writing for someone else, often these posts are the better record than the scribblings in my diary. I have often used my blog as a reference as to when I read a book, saw a film, what I planted and when.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

I don’t have any particular focus, as I am interested in too many items to list. But common themes are living sustainably, gardening, reading, cycling as transport as opposed to sport, discovering new things to learn, university studies, and so on. For example, having just completed my first timed 5K run, I may mention running quite a bit in the near future as I’m still pretty excited about this. Also, I got a crochet kit for my birthday in 2011, that’s not the last birthday, but the one before. I still haven’t figured out how to crochet – it’s still on my ta-da list.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

Connecting up with other people who have similar varied interests would be terrific. I also look forward to reading topics that I am interested in on their blogs.

If you blog successfully throughout 2014, what would you hope to have accomplished?

Just as I am decluttering one item per day, I am aiming to blog more consistently throughout the year.

One thought on “who I am and why I’m here

Leave a Reply

