starting over

New Years Eve at the Perth Blues Club was great – a dinner and show that took us through to 2014. Eugene Hideaway Bridges was thoroughly entertaining, such that the time whizzed by, and it was 2014 before you knew it. Not that I’m wishing my life away, just staying up to midnight was a challenge however much I was looking forward to it.

New Years Day brought a last and first. I was last in the field, but it was the first time that I ran 5K. I now have a time of 34:27 to improve on. Yay, go me! Thanks to the BT Run Club for offering a Walk2Run programme which I started at the beginning of October. You could say, today was my graduation.

xmas_koalas I’m still decluttering, but I’m going to tackle it differently this year. I like the suggestion made on 365 Less Things. That is, “Resolve to declutter one thing a day for a whole year.” However, I’m going to practice this for 31 days, i.e. for January and see how I go.

Day one of decluttering/un-cluttering involved letting go of my Christmas koalas. I didn’t use them this year because they were in much need of repair. However, even if I did go and get the black coloured pipe-cleaner to replace the koala claws, the cardboard was separating, and they were just hanging together. So the cardboard has gone into recycling, and I have kept the eyes and noses in my sewing basket because you never know when you might need them!

Something that made me laugh ~ Going out on NYE (first time in years), and while yawning about 9.30pm, wondering whether I would see in the New Year before falling asleep. Fortunately, the dinner, company, and show were splendid, so the time whisked by and it was the New Year before I knew it!

Something Awesome ~ Completed my first timed 5K run.

Something to be grateful for ~ That I have much to look forward to in 2014.

Something that made me happy ~ Making nibblies for the BBQ picnic after the BT Run Club 2014  New Day 5K.

Something that felt good ~ Thoughtfully tying up the shoe laces on my running shoes before getting on my bike to go down to the river foreshore for my first timed 5K run.

One thought on “starting over

  1. Pingback: cake | dilettante

Leave a Reply

