download, install, run

Yay, the next development preview of OpenOffice.org Aqua for Intel Mac has been made available, i.e. DEV300_m2.

I’m still learning about installing and uninstalling software on the Mac.

To uninstall, I’m simply dragging the software icon from the Applications folder into the Trash can? So to uninstall DEV200_m1, I dragged the icon over the Trash icon.

To install, I’m downloading a .dmg file, opening this and following my nose. Usually this means dragging a file or folder into the Applications directory.

I’m enjoying not having to change or save in different formats depending on what application that I’m using. Both TextEdit and OpenOffice.org open, edit, and save .odt formatted documents.

The ‘Sofware Update’ dialog prompted me to download and install software updates today. This is the only change that I have made to the machine prior to uninstalling OpenOffice.org DEV300_m1 and installing OpenOfffice.org DEV300_m2.

My next step now that I can create a word processing document in OpenOffice.org is to include some references using the ‘Format Paper’ function in EndNote. I believe I can leave the document in its native format (OpenDocument Text) and not have to convert it to Rich Text Format (RTF).

2 thoughts on “download, install, run

  1. I am new to EndNote, so have been searching for information and scanning the documentation and support fora. I’m sure I read somewhere that the Cite While You Write (CWYW) function would becoming available in June 2008, but I could be wrong.

    If you don’t already, a good way to keep up with OpenOffice.org development is to subscribe to the announce@openoffice.org list, if you haven’t already.

    I will be looking forward to trialling CWYW when it becomes available, but I will also be evaluating open source bibliography applications too.

Leave a Reply

