propagating

Lids for Propagating Trays

Yay, I now have umpteen clear acrylic lids for my propagating trays.

I have been trying to remember when this project started. It was after we got a shade house and while I was a member of The Digger’s Club. It was also when H was using acylic for another project, and used to go the company of a family friend to get it cut to order. Well, we no longer have the shade house, I have not been a member of the club for over ten years, and the plastics company no longer exists because the proprieter died.

I resumed propagating and growing plants from seeds last year, and completing the project was a way to clear the material from H’s shed.

H obtained a new tube of glue, and we set up the ultra-violet tube in my fish tank light fitting to fix the glue quicker. This was after H spent many painstaking hours scraping and cleaning off the paper that was adhered to the acrylic to protect it.

Today, I took some cuttings from the Santolina chamaecyparissus [1]. This is very hardy plant with silvery-grey foliage and pretty yellow button flowers. Once established, it requires very little water. I know this, as the plant from which I took the cuttings was the last surviving plant from my herb garden on the verge that had not been watered for many years.

Santolina also has a very pungent smell although I don’t find it unpleasant. When I checked my book for spelling the species name, I read that the plant is used “sweeten the air”. I’ll hopefully be using it as a fill-in plant while I kill and remove the couch from the side verge.

[1] Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures when it was flowering last month.

6 thoughts on “propagating

  1. This is very interesting. I hope you will post pics of the progress. Sometimes it is fun to pick up a project after years of taking a break from it. Have you seen Edenmakers blog today. She did a bed of Lavender cotton in two different colors and it was stunning.

  2. @deb, flowergardengirl, Robin
    Thank you for stopping by to leave a comment.

    @ deb
    I had to look up Copper Canyon Daisy. Do you think that Copper Canyon Daisy and Santolina smell similar?

    @flowergardengirl
    I’ll try to show progress with the propagating tray covers and Santolina. Although, propagating appears to be a little easier than taking pictures that depict progress in an interesting way.

    Thank you for pointing me to Edenmakers’ Blog, I am certainly inspired by the look of the “Checkerboard” Santolina Garden Bed!.

    @Robin
    I think one of the reasons we went for making them ourselves in acrylic was that we thought that the plastic ones that were available to us at the time appeared a little flimsy.

    So far I think they are working well, as it is the dry wind that tends to make it hard going for any cuttings that I’m trying to get going.

Leave a Reply

