December reads

Read my book that I got for Dryandra, A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time fame.

It kept me reading when I should really of being going to sleep. Many small incidents that make up to address the sometimes larger than life issues. Lots of incidents to have a snicker and a belly laugh over as well. ‘A Spot of Bother’ is different to ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’, but I think if you liked the reflective nature of Haddon’s previous novel, then you would like this one.

The one other book I read was The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner. This was a discard from the library, but I remember reading it as a teenager and was mighty awed by it then, and now. It is a fantasy adventure that includes wizards, sleeping knights and their steeds, a stone, and lots of bad guys – really bad guys. Another book that kept me reading until I thought the main characters were ok, or at least figuring out stuff for the better. Reading about the caves and tunnels was definitely sit up in bed stuff.

A ‘Spot of Bother’ needs to be on the shelf for H to read, but I will probably BookCross ‘The Weirdstone of Brisingamen’ some time soon.

Leave a Reply

