October reads

Started to read Peter Doherty’s The Beginner’s Guide to Winning the Nobel Prize in between Beverly Serrell’s Judging Exhibitions: A Framework for Assessing Excellence. I read for uni what I needed of Serrell, and got up to chapter two of The Beginner’s Guide to Winning the Nobel Prize.

Then Mam came back from Greece with what she calls some beach novels that they got in the secondhand bookshop, hotel across the road from their unit, or traded on the beach.

The Power and By Stealth by Colin Forbes were a very quick read. There was a certain feeling of deja vu while reading. If it wasn’t that, it was a copy and paste job within the same novel, which got a little tedious after awhile. Both are stories of espionage with some strong and very weak characters. Recommended for light reading if you can stand the repetition.

A Place of Hiding by Elizabeth George had a bit more depth, and the mystery certainly kept me guessing. Some of the characters and their relationships were a bit sickly sweet at times though.

I read The Beginner Bear’s Book of Yoga by Rosamond Richardson & James Ward and Nicolas Says Goodnight by Jan Kavanagh so that I could send them to silvermoonwyrm, who won the Happy Crazy Smile RABCK Sweepstake. Both are gorgeous books with wonderful illustrations.

Visiting The Co-op Bookshop in the last teaching week of semester, I got A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon. This was to be my book to take to Dryandra to read. I enjoyed very much Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, so was looking forward to this one.

In Katanning, I found Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. This was recommended to me when I was not looking forward to the long flight to Berlin in 2004. I’m only up to page 43. It is not an easy book to read, but I am finding it enjoyable if not an intriguing read.

But I have resolved, that I am not going to read anymore books that I cannot wild release. That means, I won’t be borrowing anymore books to read that I need to return. I feel that I have missed many opportunities to read and release books between Perth, Bremer Bay and Dryandra.

While I was away, Bookcrossing.com sent me a message to let me know that Veronica and The Stranger House are on the way to new readers. Yay!

Leave a Reply

