ashes and a blue moon

Today I decided was the day to sprinkle the ashes of Clemmie around the rose bush that we planted in her memory and that of her previous custodian, my best friend Kerry.

The Blue Moon rose was beginning to show because of the warm weather, and there being no other buds in sight – it was time.

I don’t feel sad anymore, but I do still think of Clemmie when checking that all cats are in for the night or weighing down the covers on the bed. I think too of Kerry when I discover something new happening in the garden, particularly if it is edible or has a scent.

Thanks to Kerry, I appreciate what I have and all that I have to look forward to, and thanks to Clemmie we have restarted the renovation of our home.

Leave a Reply

