Nvu – absolutely relative

Nvu logo

Having tested my draft Nvu tutorial handout and example web pages on a Linux, Windows, and Mac box there is little more to do except include some more screen snapshots and a small troubleshooting section in the handout. Fortunately, Nvu looks 99% the same on all three platforms give or take a few triangles and plus signs to indicate expansion of a hierarchy, for example, in the Nvu Site Manager.

The troubleshooting section will include:

  • Relative links lost in stylesheets
  • The work around is to manually edit the html files or include the css files in the same directory as the html files. For beginners, I think it is probably easier to use templates that use css files in the same directory as the html files. People that are more comfortable hacking the html source will probably make the necessary manual tweaks.

    KompoZer is not an option at this stage, as the Mac Studio is already set up with Nvu. Also, I thought Nvu was going to be on the Software Freedom Day CDs [1] 😦 But I will burn some CDs that have Nvu and KompoZer for Windows and Mac just in case tutorial participants want that option.

  • Start web browser before Nvu
  • If you wish to use your web browser to display your web pages from Nvu, you need to start the browser before you start Nvu. I don’t know how to set up Nvu so that the web pages are displayed in Safari, but at least Firefox is installed and that works. I’m not sure at this stage what happens for people on Windows that don’t have Firefox installed.

The Nvu User Guide is excellent, and provided a welcome start to the preparation of my handout, as did the prioritised bugs listed by Charles Cooke.

Sample design templates were obtained from Open Source Web Design and Open Designs.

As soon as I finalise the material to conduct my tutorial session, I’ll put it up in case any other universities wish to conduct a short ‘Creating a Web Site Using Nvu’ tutorial session.

[1] The CD included Firefox, Thunderbird, Sunbird, and Inkscape for Windows, and Ubuntu. That is, no OpenOffice.org, GIMP, Audacity, and Nvu for Windows as in previous years. So my tutorial participants will have a less professional looking CD burned by me. Fortunately, I will be able to use this ‘opportunity’ to talk about copying and distributing Free software.

2 thoughts on “Nvu – absolutely relative

  1. Greetings,

    Nvu was a great step forward but I’m afraid it died some time ago.

    The bug list is irrelevant because most of them have been fixed or are planned to be fixed by KompoZer.

    Development of KompoZer continues and the differences are now referenced in the User Guide by Charles Cooke. The current link is http://www.charlescooke.me.uk/nvu/index.htm

    Web sites built with Nvu can be worked with KompoZer because KompoZer is based on Nvu code. I really think KompoZer is your best bet for the future.

  2. Thank you for your comments Wysi Free.

    I needed to go with Nvu this time for the reasons I stated:

    * Nvu is installed on the machines that the students use in the Mac Studio.

    * Nvu is available on the Open CD Project CD.

    * Charles’ Nvu User Guide alerts the reader to most of the issues that the students are likely to encounter in what is a very introductory class.

    Also, most of the students use Windows at home and Mac at uni. I consider that it would be too confusing for those people that are new to web authoring software (and not confident computer users) if KompoZer works at home and Nvu does not work the same way in the uni Mac Studio.

    I took in copies of KompoZer, and only one (who is a competant Mac user) indicated that he would download it instead.

    The next time we run the tutorial, I will certainly check with the uni computer lab that they have KompoZer rather than Nvu. It will make my work easier too 🙂

Leave a Reply

