Pussy Willow

There is a song and a dance about it, but I still don’t know whether the tree that provides a walled garden for our neighbour is the right tree to be propagating.

It got to the stage where we HAD to do something about the lateral branches that were coming over the fence from our neighbour. I trimmed most of the ones that I could reach a couple of weeks ago. Today H trimmed with my rose pruning saw three of the branches that were better trimmed at the trunk while standing on a ladder.

I was finding that I had to duck the branches, and I’m not considered tall. The shade was casting a longer shadow than I would like on the plants that we are attempting to grow in our garden. Great in our Western Australian summer, not so great when the prevailing winds carry and drop most of the leaves between our house and the boundary fence during autumn.

From the ‘trimming’ of our neighbour’s tree I created 54 cuttings. Eighteen have just been stuck in the ground. Prior to being stuck in the ground, eighteen have been dipped in honey and the other eighteen have been dipped in rooting powder. I have planted them in two rows – alternating between the three different types of treatment.

According to my Yates Garden Guide, Pussy Willow are easy to propagate. It will be interesting to see if the types of treatment make any difference to the success of propagating hardwood cuttings of Pussy Willow.

Leave a Reply

