Etch from scratch – fire and ice

Debian Iceweasel icon

I now use Iceweasel which is essentially a re-badged Firefox for Debian with the non-free bits taken out. It came with the Debian Etch I installed a couple of months ago.

A new feature in the more updated version of the browser that is causing some difficulty is that there is a Close button for each tab. I much preferred having the one Close button to the right of the Window that could be used for any tab. Clicking the Close button closed the current tab.

I know this is old news for a lot of people, as I have found mild consternation to howls about the new ‘feature’, as well some hacks to modify the functionality. However, I’m getting used to the new way of doing Tabbed Browsing so I’ll let it be for now.

The only hiccup so far is that I have to turn off JavaScript to upload images, for example, uploading scanned book covers to the BookCrossing site using “Upload a Journal Entry Picture”. I would never have thought of this as a solution, as it used to be if something was not working, to turn on JavaScript. But Moem give me the tip in the BookCrossing Forum, and it works.

The Debian Sarge Firefox [1] Advanced JavaScript Settings have a “Change images” option that is on. The Debian Etch Iceweasel [2] does not have this option at all. Is this why I cannot upload images?

I did a little investigation and some googling but as yet not found a definitive answer. I would like to, as remembering to turn JavaScript off and turn it on (for most sites) is a bit of a nuisance.

[1] Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.10) Gecko/20061113 Firefox/1.0.4 (Debian package 1.0.4-2sarge13)

[2] Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.3) Gecko/20070310 Iceweasel/2.0.0.3 (Debian-2.0.0.3-1)

One thought on “Etch from scratch – fire and ice

  1. Pingback: Etch from Scratch - how to change Iceweasel reported browser « dilettante

Leave a Reply

