Etch from scratch – monitor flickering

Initial installation of Debian GNU/Linux 4.0 (Etch) correctly detected the Radeon RV280 (9200 PRO) and selected the appropriate Radeon driver.

However, the monitor flickers and the Xfce Display Manager crashes. I’m logged out of my session if I try to select other resolutions. Also, noise is displayed when I moved the mouse pointer at the log in screen.

Ran dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg and instead of manually selecting Radeon (I did this the first few times), I went with the ‘autoselect’ option. ATI was autodetected, so I went through the prompts accepting the defaults, until I got to ‘Medium’ intervention. I don’t know enough about my monitor (VX720) to take advantage of the options in the offered ‘Advanced’ intervention.

Success.

Now able to change resolution using the Xfce Display Manager, and have decided on a resolution of 1280x1024x75 for now. The fonts still look yuck, so I may have to pop over to the Computer Angels Sarge install to see what fonts are used there.

Leave a comment