Get Flocked

Get Flocked

I tried, really I did.

So keen was I to try Flock, it was the next piece of software for me to install on my new Debian GNU/Linux 4.0 (Etch) system.

The download and installation was easy. It was beginning to use it for the very thing that I wanted it to work, i.e. blogging that has got me stumped. It must be something really simple, but I’m just not getting it at the moment.

I tried to get my new system ready in time for the Flock Community Test Day yesterday, but I thought it was better to tweak and fine tune things like monitor flickering and installing a printer. And no, it didn’t take me all day and night to do these things, but I did have things like work and assignments to do in the meantime, some of which required a working computer. But I still downloaded the Test Day Build to play with, even though I missed the day to do the testing together with the Flock Community.

  1. Downloaded flock-0.8.0.99.en-US.linux-i686.tar.gz to my desktop.
  2. From a terminal, as root, copied the downloaded file to the /usr/local/bin directory.
  3. Unpacked the file:
    tar xvf flock-0.8.0.99.en-US.linux-i686.tar.gz
  4. Navigated to newly created flock directory as myself, i.e. not root, and attempted to run Flock:
    ./flock
  5. Unfortunately, I had forgotten that a pre-requisites is libstdc++5. Fortunately, the error message was accurate:

    “./flock-bin error while loading shared libraries, libstdc++.so.5 cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.”

  6. Entering apt-cache search libstdc++ in a terminal showed that the missing file is available to be installed.
  7. dpkg -L 'libstdc++*' showed that libstdc++6 is desired and installed.
  8. My question to H was whether I could have both libstdc++5 and libstdc++6 installed. He wasn’t sure, so I went off Googling and found some other people that had a similar if not the same problem but with a different application, and sometimes on a different system. The suggested fix was to install libstdc++5 in addition to libstdc++6.

  9. Entering apt-get install libstdc++5 in a terminal showed that gcc-3.3-base and libstdc++5 would be installed and nothing else would be upgraded or deleted. I went ahead and installed libstdc++5.
  10. It worked, I can now run ./flock from a terminal to start Flock.

initial Flock screen

That was the easy bit.

The first things that I wanted to do were to introduce Flock to this blog and create a post. I found the Help > Getting Started on the menu bar, and the User Guide is also online.

Help on configuring Flock to work with WordPress.com says:

To configure your browser to work with an existing blog service:

* On Windows, choose Accounts and Services from the Tools menu.
* On Linux, choose Accounts and Services from the Edit menu.
* On Mac, choose Accounts and Services from the Flock menu.

The ‘Accounts and Services’ panel is displayed within Flock on the left side of the screen.

Flock Accounts and Services panel

The Help continues:

1. Click the Blogging button on the top menu bar.
2. Click the Accounts tab.
3. Click the Add Blog button.

I cannot locate the Blogging button on the top menu bar. My top menu bar shows:

File | Edit | View | History | Favorites | Tools | Help

I selected the ‘Blogging’ heading in the ‘Accounts and Services’, followed by the ‘WordPress.com’ button that is displayed below the heading. The http://wordpress.com/ site is displayed in the main window panel. Note: The mouseover ‘WordPress.com’ button displays “WordPress blogging service. Select to enable blogging to WordPress with …”.

Have you ever felt that when you share or explain an issue and in doing so you figure it out? I think I may have found the Blogging button. When I mouseover a button displaying a quill pen (on what I would call a button bar) the popup reads “Create a blog post”. When I click this button it rightly tells me that I need a Blog Account. I’ll investigate this further when I have more time to play.

Leave a Reply

