slideshow presentations

Woman giving presentation.
At WordPress.com you can now embed more slideshows. Presentations on Slideshare.net and Slide.com are able to be displayed and viewed from within a blog article.

I have tried out the new Slideshare.net feature by editing my previous article on RoHS.

Previously, I created a thumbnail of the first slide and uploaded the PDF to the internet. Readers had to download the whole PDF just to view the first few slides to see whether they were interested or not.

With Slideshare.net and WordPress.com, I can now upload my presentations to Slideshare.net, then copy the code displayed in the “Embed in wordpress.com” text box into my blog article. Readers can view some or all of the slides, before deciding to download the presentation from the Slideshare.net site.

What is really neat about Slideshare.net, is that you can upload OpenOffice.org Impress (.odp files) as well as PDF, and PowerPoint (.ppt and .pps files).

I was about to try Slide.com next, but just visiting their web site puts my computer into 100% usage, requiring me to kill the browser (Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.10) Gecko/20070116 Firefox/1.0.4 (Debian package 1.0.4-2sarge15) processes and finally deciding to reboot my computer. Will have to save this much anticipated feature for another day — perhaps after I have upgraded to Debian GNU/Linux 4.0.

3 thoughts on “slideshow presentations

  1. I visited your site, and it looks like you figured it out 🙂 The code made available yesterday was for blogs hosted on WordPress.com.

    I was sure there is a plugin for bloggers that use the WordPress software that was probably available before now. I did a quick search of WordPress.org without success. But I did find Slideshare plugin for WordPress by Googling. It would be helpful if you could share how you got the WordPress plug-in to work for you.

    If you have a blog that is using the WordPress software (from WordPress.org), then the code will be slightly different to what I got excited about here in this article.

Leave a Reply

