rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb

I picked a good day to dig the new rhubarb patch. It was cool (for Perth, Western Australia) and just as I finished planting the rhubarb crowns and seedlings, it began to rain. And it has been raining steadily since. Probably just as well, as the cow manure is a bit pongy.

rhubarb patch

The rhubarb patch is made up of three Rheum rhabarborum crowns from Renaissance Herbs and four Rhuem x hybridum seedlings from Herbs ‘R’ Us. I read that the seedlings vary greatly and that it is better to get crowns, but having the opportunity to try both, I am.

Before planting, I prepared the soil by digging in cow manure and castings from our worm factory. I then planted the crowns and seedlings in a pocket of potting mix and cow manure.

It will take a couple of years before we have enough for a rhubarb pie (yum), but now I can be out in the rhubarb patch.

Leave a Reply

