getting back up to speed

Open Directory Project at dmoz.org

I like sorting and creating order, so being a volunteer editor with the Open Directory Project (ODP) gives me great pleasure.

While I have been an editor since July 2001, my activity has been rather sporadic over the last year. Just three days after I had decided to get back up to speed with some regular editing, in the categories of which I am the custodian – ODP experienced an outage (20 October 2006). Oh noes!

The usual criticism and controversy abounds. Jim Hedger questions the current relevance of ODP in Trouble at the ODP, Rich Skrenta writes DMOZ had 9 lives. Used up yet? , and Curt Monash attempts to separate the wheat from the chaff in Fact and Fiction: DMOZ and the ODP.

I have got the general gist of the state-of-play in the editor forums and had a quick look at some categories (all of which need a little TLC). With the excellent tips, articles, and links to pertinent forum threads I’m sure I’ll get into the swing of things. Also, everyone is being so helpful, particularly in welcoming editors after the Christmas/New Year silly season and prior enforced editing break

Fortunately or unfortunately (depending on how you look at it) much of the forum discussion, editor tools and resources, and newsletters are behind the scenes in an editor-only area. My feeling is that this is like any public performance. The artists, directors, and organisers are busy behind the scenes, but there comes a time when we are waiting in the wings ready to give of our audience, the best.

Public forms were set up at The Resource Zone as an informal vehicle for communication between the public and the ODP editing community. If the information readily available does not answer your question, this is the place to ask. Like many other ODP editors, I usually do not respond to emails inquiring about submissions.

ODP editor Shadow575 is not just talking but getting on with it. I think I will too. I’m off to do some editing.

4 thoughts on “getting back up to speed

  1. Oh noes, because I know there were many more submitted sites then I now have available to edit and publish.

    But then again, that can be a positive. I and other editors in related categories may be able to see the bottom of the IN tray.

Leave a Reply

